Call for Papers

The pdf of this CFP.

Scope of the Conference

The IEEE Real-Time Systems Symposium (RTSS) is the premier conference in the area of real-time systems, presenting innovations in the field with respect to theory and practice. RTSS provides a forum for the presentation of high-quality, original research covering all aspects of real-time systems design, analysis, implementation, evaluation, and experiences. RTSS’14 continues the trend of making RTSS an expansive and inclusive symposium, looking to embrace new and emerging areas of real-time systems research. RTSS’14 welcomes submissions in all areas of real-time systems, including but not limited to operating systems, networks, middleware, compilers, tools, modeling, scheduling, QoS support, resource management, testing and debugging, hardware/software co-design, fault tolerance, security, power and thermal management, embedded platforms, and system experimentation and deployment experiences.

In addition to the main real-time track, we continue the successful format of previous years with three specialized tracks: Cyber-Physical Systems, Design and Verification, and Wireless Sensor Networks. Although authors will choose which tracks to submit papers to, a paper may be redirected to a more appropriate track. All papers will appear in the main program and proceedings.

Paper Submission Guidelines

All papers must be submitted electronically in PDF format, following the IEEE conference proceedings format and must describe original work not previously published or concurrently submitted elsewhere. The main body of each submitted paper is limited to 10 pages. Additionally, each submission may include an optional appendix with supplemental material that will be read at the discretion of the program committee; this appendix is limited to two pages (for 12 pages total). Authors of accepted papers that exceed 10 pages (due to the inclusion of an optional appendix) will be required to pay a fee of $50 for each page beyond the tenth. Submissions (including the optional appendix) must be formatted according to IEEE conference paper guidelines.

Please submit your papers here.

Important Dates

  • May 15, 2014 – FIRM Submission Deadline
  • July 26, 2014 – Notification of Acceptance
  • September 26, 2014 – Camera-ready Deadline
  • December 2, 2014 – Workshops
  • December 3 to December 5, 2014 – Symposium

Organizing Committee

General Chair:
Michael González Harbour, Universidad de Cantabria, Spain

Program Chair:
Christopher D. Gill, Washington University in St. Louis, USA

Ex-Officio (TC Chair):
Steve Goddard, University of Nebraska-Lincoln, USA

Finance Chair:
Karl-Erik Årzén, Lunds University, Sweden

Local Arrangements Chairs:
Vincenzo Bonifaci, Italian National Research Council, Italy
Alberto Marchetti-Spaccamela, Sapienza University of Rome, Italy

Track Chairs:
Cyber-Physical Systems: Xenofon Koutsoukos, Vanderbilt University, USA
Design and Verification: Sebastian Fischmeister, University of Waterloo, Canada
Wireless Sensor Networks Track: Mário Alves, Politécnico do Porto, Portugal
General Track: Chris Gill, Washington University in St. Louis, USA

Publicity Chairs:
Harini Ramaprasad, Southern Illinois University, USA
Shinpei Kato, Nagoya University, Japan
Marko Bertogna, University of Modena, Italy

Web Chair:
Gabriel Parmer, George Washington University, USA