Work in Progress Session

Work In Progress Program

  • FIFO* scheduling in clock-synchronized switched Ethernet networks
    Olivier Cros, Xiaoting Li, and Laurent George
  • Bit Rate Assignment in CAN-FD to Minimize Power Consumption in Electrical Vehicles
    Younes Maaouni, Laurent George, and Frèdèric Fauberteau
  • Towards improved dynamic reallocation of real-time workloads for thermal management on many-cores
    Rafia Inam, Matthias Becker, Moris Behnam, Thomas Nolte, and Mikael Sjödin
  • An Integrated Analysis of the Worst Case Response Time for P-FRP
    Qiang Zhou, Xingliang Zou, Albert M. K. Cheng, and Yu Jiang
  • Another look at the pWCET estimation problem
    Vincent Nélis, Patrick Meumeu Yomsi, Lúis Miguel Pinho, and Guillem Bernat
  • A Contention-Sensitive Multi-Resource Locking Protocol for Multiprocessor Real-Time Systems
    Bryan C. Ward and James H. Anderson
  • Dual Priority and EDF: a closer look
    Damien Masson, Laurent George, and Joël Goossens
  • An Enhanced COTS DRAM Controller Design for High-Performance Real-Time Systems Prathap
    Kumar Valsan and Heechul Yun

Call for Papers

Submissions of 2 page extended abstracts describing exciting new, in-progress, and/or experimental research are invited for the Work-in-Progress (WIP) session of the 2014 IEEE Real-Time Systems Symposium (RTSS). The WiP session is devoted to the presentation of new and on-going research in real-time systems, theory, and applications. The primary purpose of the WiP session is to provide researchers with an opportunity to discuss their evolving ideas and gather feedback from the real-time community at large. Of particular interest are ideas and contributions that present significant paradigm shifts, explore unique and unconventional approaches to important problems, or investigate fundamental departures from conventional wisdom in adopted solutions. WiP topics include, but are not limited to:

  • Adaptive systems theory and practice
  • Architectural support
  • Case studies
  • Compiler support
  • Cyber-physical systems
  • Design and Verification
  • Embedded systems
  • Energy management
  • Formal methods
  • Model-based development
  • Multicore real-time support
  • Multi-criticality analysis and support
  • Multimedia computing
  • Performance modeling
  • QoS support
  • Real-time and dependability
  • Real-time databases
  • Real-time programming languages
  • Real-time sensor/actuator networks
  • Real-time systems middleware
  • Scheduling algorithms
  • Security and survivability
  • Software engineering
  • System development tools
  • Systems integration
  • Wireless Sensor Networks
  • Worst-case execution time estimation

The RTSS 2014 WiP session will be held during the symposium. Submissions should describe original on-going work. Accepted submissions will be included in a separate RTSS WiP Proceedings, which will be distributed to all RTSS symposium participants and will be available electronically from the RTSS home page. One author of every accepted paper should be registered to the conference and present the paper during the conference. All WiP projects will be presented orally and in a poster session.

Submission Instructions

The expected length of submitted extended abstracts is 2 pages. Submissions should NOT exceed two (2) pages including references and figures – extended abstracts exceeding two pages will not be reviewed.

Papers should be formatted as single-space, double-column (normal IEEE format), in a 10 point font. Templates are available at:

The paper submission page can be found at:

Please note that if you do not have an account for the START conference management system you need to press the “New User” link to register and access the paper submission page.

Important Dates

Sept 29, 2014 – FIRM WiP paper submission deadline
Oct 27, 2014 – WiP papers notification of Acceptance

Program Committee

Octav Chipara, University of Iowa (chair)
Ying Lu, University of Nebraska
Sibin Mohan, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Gabriel Parmer, George Washington University
Abusayeed Saifullah, Missouri University of Science & Technology
Heechul Yun, University of Kansas
Marko Bertogna, Università di Modena e Reggio Emilia